

SanomaWSOY Corporation tel. +358 105 1999 P.O. Box 1229, FIN-00101 HELSINKI www.sanomawsoy.fi

SanomaWSOY Corp. Stock Exchange Release Apr. 9, 2002 at 15:00

SANOMAWSOY'S ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

SanomaWSOY Oyj's Annual General Meeting confirmed the 2001 financial statements and consolidated financial statements and granted discharge from liability to the members of the Board of Directors and the Managing Director for the 2001 financial year. In accordance with the proposal of the Board of Directors, a dividend of EUR 0.51 per share will be distributed to the shareholders. The record date for the payment of dividends is 12 April 2002, and the dividend will be paid on 19 April 2002.

The term of the Board of Directors elected in May 1998 ended at this Annual General Meeting, which reapproved the existing number of 11 as the number of the Board members. The following Board members were reelected on the Board of Directors of SanomaWSOY Oyj: Mr. Robert Castrén, Mr. Aatos Erkko; Ms. Jane Erkko; Ms. Marjukka af Heurlin; Mr. Paavo Hohti; Mr. Kyösti Järvinen; Mr. Esko Koivusalo; Mr. Robin Langenskiöld; Mr. Jaakko Rauramo; Ms. Rafaela Seppälä; and Mr. Hannu Syrjänen. Mr. Jaakko Rauramo was elected Chairman and Mr. Paavo Hohti Vice Chairman of the Board. All these persons have announced that they will vacate their seats for new election at the Annual General Meeting in spring 2003.

PricewaterhouseCoopers Oy, corporation of authorized public accountants, continues as the Company's Auditors, with Ms. Johanna Perälä, APA, as a Lead Auditor, assisted by Mr. Pekka Nikula, APA and Mr. Juha Tuomala, APA, as his deputy.

The remuneration of the Board of Directors remains unchanged. The auditors' fees will be paid on the basis of invoicing.

SANOMAWSOY CORPORATION

Raija Kariola

Vice President, Investor Relations and Group Communications

DISTRIBUTION

Helsinki Exchanges, Principal media

VAT FI 15243611 Domicile Helsinki